workshopnanax.blogg.se

Xojo real studio
Xojo real studio









xojo real studio

  • Then launch Real Studio and do a “File -> Save As …”, which will force RS to re-save all of the VCP files with the same line endings (Thanks, Tobias!).
  • Open your project manifest file ( YourRSProject.rbvcp ) in BBEdit (or Text Wrangler) and change the line endings to “LF” and save the file.
  • XOJO REAL STUDIO CODE

    (Keep in mind that you do NOT need to do this in order to use Git with Real Studio, but it makes seeing code changes/diffs a little easier.) Since Git doesn’t like this line ending, you need to use external apps like Kaleidoscope (My favorite GUI Diff App) to view the diffs, which can slow down committing a little.īut there’s an easy fix for this, it turns out. Real Studio 2012r2.1 defaults to using CR’s on OS X. It prefers that the line endings are UNIX Line Feeds chr(10). Git doesn’t like text files that end with Carriage Returns chr(13) and therefore doesn’t think the files are “real” text files. There’s also Tower for OS X, which isn’t free, but also looks very “pretty.”Ī tip for Real Studio and Xojo Developers using Git Users (Thanks to Norman, and Tobias on the Xojo Forums): Now I use SourceTree (which is available for both OS X and Windows, and is totally free. It solved ALL of the issues that I listed above. So I started using Git over a year ago, and have never looked back. Along with pretty much all of the other things that it offered over SVN, honestly.

    xojo real studio

    The distributed part of Git is what really intrigued me. Then I heard about Mercurial and Git after reading Joel Spolsky’s post about converting from SVN to Git. Branching and merging was possible, but never easy or fun to do, so I avoided it, like everyone else that uses SVN pretty much (from what I’ve read and heard from others).Checking out different commit checkpoints were often slow with very large repositories because SVN needs to re-download all file differences from the network.Adding items to be ignored are kinda of tedious to do in SVN.Moving directories around really ticks off SVN. That annoying “.svn” directory in every folder.This was very limiting because I travel a lot and often don’t have network connections, or don’t want to fire up the VPN client to connect to my office SVN server. I had to have a network connection to push a commit.At first I really liked it because I finally had a source code management system.īut over the years I started to have gripes about it that just wouldn’t go away, like:

    xojo real studio

    I was using subversion (SVN) for close to over 4 years. I’ve been developing Blast Image Config in Real Studio for over ten years. I’m also a huge fan of Real Studio (soon to be “Xojo”) for developing OS X apps and console tools. I’m a huge fan of Git for source code management.











    Xojo real studio